What I Learnt from “Confessions of a Shopaholic”

“When I looked into shop windows, I saw another world… A world where grown-ups got what they waConfessions of a Shopaholicnted. They were beautiful. Like fairies or princesses. They didn’t even need any money. They had magic cards…”

  • – Rebecca Bloomwood

 

When I first heard of the name “Confessions of a Shopaholic”, back when I was perhaps ten or twelve, I did not really feel so attracted to it. But then again, I was not so soft with emotions that time (oh, but I did cry – like rain!). I always thought that that movie contained girls who always shopped, shopped, and shopped. However, over the summer after XII Standard, all of that changed… And here I am—enjoying all the romantic movies in the world… Well, not all, actually, just a select few… Like “Confessions of a Shopaholic”, “Letters to Juliet”, Nicholas Sparks, Mary-Kate and Ashley, “Flipped”, “The Sound of Music”…and the like.

“Confessions of a Shopaholic” is actually a good movie for teenagers and adolescents who have just got their own jobs and got their first salary. Believe me, I am still a student and have never worked anywhere – not for a pay-check, anyway. But, I have had this strong notion of saving money ever since I was a little girl of eight or so. Whenever my relatives gave me money to spend, I would put them in this cute little purse I was once given by an uncle, regardless of their appearance—change or notes. I still remember: my great-grandmother used to give my brother and me a hundred rupees each time she stayed with us. I don’t know what my brother did with his, but as for me, I kept all those notes safely in my purse; to the point that, I even refused to make a bank account for keeping them safe. While every kid reveled in having made his very own bank account, I was averse towards such an idea.

But to-day, after that announcement by the government about invaliding the notes printed before the year 2005, I lost quite a bit of my savings – in just a morning! I realised that I should have that bank account earlier itself, for then I would not have lost all that money – it would keep getting circulated and in time, I would have new banknotes.

I bet my parents would be saying “I told you so” when they read this! 😀

Anyhow, all my life, I was so used to saving money that, even to-day, I think a hundred – sometimes a thousand – times before I buy even something as small as a ten rupees Lays packet. Call me selfish, but I find helpless about it. I only know how to save money; I do not know how to spend it. And in the “Confessions of a Shopaholic”, I actually found a person totally opposite to me! I always feel amazed at how that girl, Rebecca Bloomwood, can find things to buy! Me? I was interested only in her and her lover to get back together in the end! And oh, I also wanted Rebecca to get rid of her shopaholicism.

Of course, I didn’t decide one day to watch this movie, all by myself. A friend of mine in college wanted to watch it and I agreed to download it for her (she was in hostel and did not have enough internet connection to do so by herself). So, I did – and watched it – and loved it. It was such a beautiful movie that I watched it once more about six months later.

Well, that is all I have got to say on the subject…can’t think of anything else…

Ciao! 😉

 

Comments

