On a Walking Spree

Ciao! πŸ˜‰

This is an incident that happened to me…

It was my second day of college. I was in my first year BA.

It was agreed that I would take the local bus to college, as the institution was not going to provide transportation.

I was perfectly fine with that. (Even if I didn’t, did I have a choice?😜)

So, my mother acquainted me with travelling in local buses; we even found out the numbers of buses travelling on the same route as my college.

And so, when my college actually began, I was ready.

Or so I thought…😐

Like the said afore, I was in my first year of college – my second day. The first day had gone really well, at least as far as travelling was concerned–I got a bus quite easily, my mother was with me; and I had also got a seat. The second day had gone on similarly.

It is human tendency to think “If that day has gone well, then today also it should!”.

By which humans commit grave mistakes. As did I.

That evening, the bus I was on was approaching my bus stop. To reach it, the bus (or any vehicle for that matter) has to cross a signal, which is located at an intersection. TurningΒ right at the signal would lead to a completely different area of the city. So, to reach my bus stop, it has to go straight.

Before proceeding, let me explain something to you. When I had got into the bus earlier that evening, I had asked either the driver or the conductor (I don’t remember which) as to whether it will go to my bus stop or not, and they had said it would. And so, I had got on. As the journey proceeded, I heard them saying that my bus stop was the last one.

I should have realised what that meant sooner. Not that I suffered or anything; it wasn’t very pleasant either.

So, the bus reached the signal, which turned red; we were at the beginning of the junction. I still should have realised, but, naturally, didn’t.

When the signal finally turned green, I got ready, but was astonished to see that the bus simply turned right at the corner and dropped us off in the middle of the road!!

Now, one more thing that you need to know. The road is very wide, divided by a divider, a flyover flying above. So this divider keeps breaking off at certain junctions and signals.

So, the bus simply turned the corner, all the passengers got off – me included – right there in the middle of the road, and took off!!

On instinct, I followed my fellow passengers towards the sidewalk. At the turning here is this one particular hospital, which was etched into my mind then and there. I also knew that there was a subway here to cross the road safely, as my mother had once shown me. But, try as I did, I could not find it anywhere!! I had remembered the general direction in which was supposed to be,Β but for the life of meΒ I couldn’t see it!!

I panicked and called my mother. She tried to give me directions, but it turned out that there was a great deal of miscommunication between the two of us; you see, the only landmark I knew was that hospital I mentioned earlier. Wheras, my mother had a different idea of its location. This I had not known.

And so, that day, I ended up walking at least two kilometres!! πŸ˜‚

For, you see, I was walking in the direction opposite to the subway!! Obviously, I would not find any in that direction!!

Finally, my mother came all the way from home to pick me up. It was then that we found out that her idea of the location of the hospital was not quite right.

That was one of the most hilarious days of my life…. And I shall never forget it!!πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

Anyways, when this sort of thing happens to me, I know exactly how to go back home, even without the aid of the hospital! πŸ˜€

Ciao! πŸ˜‰

15 thoughts on “On a Walking Spree

  1. hahaha…i can imagin your condition from what situation you had gone through. By the way i am laughing. Its ok buddy it happens with everyone when your nervous know for new place, new college, new people…

    Dont worry by practice you will perfect. You have to be strong buddy. πŸ˜‰

    Same situation happened with my sis ;p

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Akshay!
      Yea…. I know! πŸ˜€
      I am much stronger now, because of situations like that! πŸ˜€
      Anyway, thanks for taking your time out to read my post! I appreciate it very much! πŸ™‚
      Regards,
      Ananya πŸ˜‰

      Like

Comments

