My Doggy Adventures Part I

I was in my second year of college when this incident took place. So, I was around nineteen years old.

My college is about seven kilometres from where I live at present. I used walk one kilometre to the bus stop and travel the rest of the distance by the local government bus. It is the same routine when I leave college–I travel about six kilometres by a bus and the rest one kilometre I walk home. The only difference then was that my mother would accompany me in the morning; in the evening (or whenever I leave college), I would be alone, except for fellow passersby.

One day, I was walking back home. I walked about three quarters of a kilometre, when something happened. A collared dog was walking behind me across the road (still I was being cautious).

Suddenly, I heard the dog yelp behind me. I whirled around to see it running in my direction. A two-wheeler passed by with two men. I realised that the dog was actually chasing the vehicle. The pillion rider tried to shoo it away with his foot. The dog got away and began to run towards me (I think it did not realise where it was running).

I immediately did something to scare it away. I don’t remember what I did, though. I must have had an umbrella in my hand, as, if I recall correctly, it looked like rain that evening.

Anyway, the dog ran into the adjacent lane and I walked on, mentally commanding myself to calm down. The two-wheeler riders rode away slowly; I could feel their eyes on me as I tried to look straight ahead and perfectly calm (that is how I eventually go back to my normal self). I ignored them, though; they had probably provoked the poor dog. I mean, in those few seconds that I looked into its eyes, it seemed so scared.

When I went home, I was still a little dazed from the whole incident. I walked into our home and asked my mother to give me her biggest hug.

12 thoughts on “My Doggy Adventures Part I

    1. Hehehe…!!
      Yes, I do care, especially for people I really love and admire. πŸ™‚
      Thank you very much for reading my works, I really appreciate it!!
      And, I totally enjoy your poems, too!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow….. Thank you so much, my friend!!
      I admit it, I was truly surprised when I read your comment, although I had been told that before.πŸ˜…πŸ˜…
      Thanks a lot for saying that, and also for taking your time out to read my stuff. I really appreciate it.πŸ˜†πŸ˜€

      Like

Comments

