What Have You Done to Me?

I was a little girl back then –
Happy-go-lucky,
Cheerful and lively –
Not to mention, naughty –
And Peter Pan’s partner in crime.

But now,
I’m a girl in love –
Growing up when I vowed never to –
Sad and lonely –
And waiting just for you –
To feast my eyes on you once more.

What have you done to me?
For, I’m no longer myself –
Not like I used to be, anyway.
You’ve changed me completely –
Heart and soul –
And, for that, I’ll never forget you.

What have you done to me?
You simply ripped my heart out,
Purified it in the beauty of your soul,
Before gently placing it back inside –
For that, I can’t thank you enough.

And now,
I can’t seem to get you out of my head –
I can’t seem to get on without you –
Just waiting and wondering
When I’ll get to see you again.

I was a little girl back then –
Happy-go-lucky,
Cheerful and lively –
Not to mention, naughty –
And Peter Pan’s partner in crime.

But now,
I’m a girl in love –
Growing up when I vowed never to –
Sad and lonely –
And waiting just for you –
To feast my eyes on you once more.

What have you done to me?
You’ve made me a fool –
A lovesick fool!
Waiting for someone?
Waiting to return a love?
Waiting for someone to notice me?
Nay, that’s not me at all…
At least,
Not until you found a place in my heart.

4 thoughts on “What Have You Done to Me?

Comments

