The Devil Incarnate

“Why do you keep pushing people away like that?!” she cried and I could see how angry she was. “Why do you push ME away?! What have I ever done to you?!”

I rolled my eyes. “Nothing. I’m just anti-social, is all. Any problem with that?”

“Plenty!” she huffed. “You don’t even know the value of friendship… It’s like you don’t trust anybody and you take pride in it!”

Instantly incensed by her words, I leaned close to her and she instinctively backed up a step.

“Do you even know who I am?” I hissed at her.

She gulped. “Frank Edwards?”

I could not help smirking at her innocence. “That’s not what I mean.”

She then seemed to gather some courage, for her chin lifted up. “Then?” she enquired.

“Oh, Elisa Mary, you don’t know a thing about me, do you? Screw all that nonsense to tell me about how well you’re getting to know me! If you really did, you’d know I’m the Devil Incarnate!”

I let that sink in. I enjoyed her facial expression going from confusion to shock to horror. I leaned back and smirked. I waited for her say something. I was sure she would apologise and leave me alone.

If I knew her better then, I would not have assumed this. She had always been full of surprises, just like she had proved on the first day she came.

She smiled at me. Yes, Elisa Mary smiled at me. And it was a nice smile, too, not a scornful one.

Frankly, it melted the barriers around my heart.

Finally, she spoke up: “So, you’re Hades?” Her voice was a soft lilt in the deathly quiet room.

I nodded.

“Then, I’m Persephone.” She winked at me.

Now, it was my turn to play dumb. No – I was seriously horrified at what I just heard her say. Was she really trying to help me? It was true I am always pushing my friends away, even when I know they are only trying to help me with the various issues I have had, thanks to my ex-girlfriend. The students and teachers at school even called me “the Devil of Lucifer High”, but it had never bothered me. That was because I was.

And here was a girl standing in front of me, smiling for all she is worth, and pretending as if I did not just intimate her to the core! She had even felt scared, if only for a while!

And now, she went on as though she had not just sent shockwaves through my spine: “If you’re Hades, then let me be Persephone.”

“And I’ll be the one and only great Zeus!”

I rolled my eyes, while Elisa jumped a mile. Behind her at the doorway stood my best buddy, Julian.

“Great timing, man,” I told him, with sarcasm dripping with each word.

Julian grinned as if I did not just insult him. “Thanks, man! I never knew I’d live to hear a praise from you!”

I shook my head and bent my head to hide the traitorous smile that was beginning to make its way to my face. “Whatever,” I mumbled.


This story was something that is swimming inside my head, trying to find its own head and tail, so to speak. I mean, it’s an idea for a new story. If you happen to read it, do leave a comment to let me know your opinion about it.

4 thoughts on “The Devil Incarnate

  1. The gist is implying that the male protagonist is a devil in rhetoric. A story between a reluctant hero and a somewhat determined heroine always is a fun read. Would like to read that whole thing of written, although on WordPress itself. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea, you guessed it quite right! Thanks a lot for your thoughts on it – truly appreciate it!!❤
      When I finish writing a significant amount of chapters, I’ll consider putting a few of them on WordPress.😊

      Liked by 1 person

Comments

